Blog visitor etiquette

This was originally posted on my Vox test blog, but I like it so much, I’m copying it here.


If you find something you like on this blog, or something you find useful, please leave me a comment. Even if it’s just to say “Hi, thanks for the info” or “Hi, you’re an idiot.

Now that I’m doing some blogging myself, I realize that it’s just common courtesy to say thanks, or just say you were here when you get something out of a blog you visited. I think it’s especially important if the blog you’re visiting has no comments or relatively few comments. By commenting, you are encouraging the blogger to continue. You are letting them know that someone is in fact reading what they have to say. After all, isn’t that why we’re all doing this.

I am guilty of not leaving comments as much as the next person for several reasons:

  • I can’t be bothered/don’t have the time
  • I don’t think I have anything interesting to say or to add to the discussion already underway
  • I don’t want to have to make the blogger deal with extra text on his/her page.

Yeah, I know that last one is a bit dumb, but I have always felt I was bothering the person if I left them a comment. Now I realize that comments are the lifeblood of blogging. It’s the reason we blog, for others to read and discuss.

I, for one, plan to leave a comment on every blog I find interesting, or get something out of. I read a lot of blogs on web design that have tutorials; tutorials that people have put a lot of work into. They deserve some feedback if their tutorials are being used. The 3 or 4 minutes it takes to leave a quick comment, is much better than having to pay for the information.

So, dammit, I expect to see some comments here, pronto!

Published in: on July 25, 2006 at 6:10 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jmayoff.wordpress.com/2006/07/25/blog-visitor-etiquette/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

