Why doesn’t anyone want to buy my mouse trap? It’s better!

http://www.techcrunch.com/2006/07/07/nbc-will-buy-tribenet/

I saw this article this morning on Techcrunch.  I’m always amazed when I see websites being sold for exhorbitant amounts of money ($50M in this case, $600M in another case named in the article.)  I’m amazed because I know I can create sites like these.  I don’t have the ideas, or the time, or the money — but I do have the know-how.  It’s not that I don’t have ideas, it’s just that I don’t have the right ideas.

Although I guess it’s like the a lot of things, if you don’t try you’ll never succeed.  If you don’t buy that lottery ticket, you’ll never win.  If you don’t try inventing a better mouse trap, you never will.  Well, maybe I should set out build that better mouse trap and hope that NBC or some other huge corporation with lots of extra dough around will see it, want it and buy it. 

Anyone have any ideas?  I’ll cut you in for 10% if I hit it big.  No, wait.. make that 5%.  Wait, if it’s $100M, that would be $5M….. better make it 1%, I can’t afford to give away $5M.

Published in: on July 7, 2006 at 4:32 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jmayoff.wordpress.com/2006/07/07/why-doesnt-anyone-want-to-buy-my-mouse-trap-its-better/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’m in the same boat as you. I have lots of ideas, work on them for a while and often face time crunches and a lack of large sums of money to make the idea work. I am working on something that may hopefully be that “better mousetrap”. I guess we’ll see.


Leave a Reply

