IE7 & Crashes

Internet Explorer7 (IE7) is out in beta (#3) and I like the new look and feel. I like the way cleartext makes all the fonts look really cool. I design websites in my spare time, so I also like the way it conforms to web standards (CSS and XHTML.) But there’s one little thing that bugs me: it crashes all the time. OK, so that’s a pretty big thing, I guess.

It’s strange, but I also have Maxthon installed on my computer, which uses the IE engine, and it works fine. It amost never crashes, or more precisely, freezes, cause that’s what happens to IE7. I’ll be in the middle of something and all of a sudden, my browser is frozen and I can’t close it without doing the 3-finger salute. I’ve googled it, and have never found anyone else with this problem. Maybe it’s just the exact combination of MY software and MY hardware that’s doing it, and no one else is affected, but I don’t think that’s the case.

IE7 is supposed to come out for real sometime in the next few months, and I hear it might just be a critical update, meaning it downloads automatically for just about everyone. If everyone (or a significant number of people ) start(s ) crashing all of a sudden, there’s gonna be a lot of unhappy people.

Am I the only one concerned about this? Am I the only who’s blogging about this problem? Am I the only one HAVING this problem.

Published in: on July 4, 2006 at 2:25 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jmayoff.wordpress.com/2006/07/04/ie7-crashes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] I believe I may have solved my problem. Not only was IE7 crashing all time, but anytime I opened — and then closed any folder in windows, explorer.exe also crashed. After much googling around I came across this thread and this one.  First I tried EasyCleaner, which didn’t do it, but I think it did speed up my computer a bit. Then I tried ShellExView which magically solved all my problems. […]


Leave a Reply

