Happy 4th of July, Happy Birthday to me and Gord Sinclair!

I’m Canadian, so I don’t celebrate US independence day… but it is my birthday and I do celebrate that. I have finally hit the age at which Gord Sinclair stopped aging. His running gag all his life age 40 and up, whenever asked how old he was, was to say he was 39. Well, I’m not saying how old I am, but I’m as old as Gord was when he died, which would make me about 39.

Gord SinclairIn case you don’t know, Gord Sinclair was the long time news director at CJAD who died in 2002. He was a well-loved guy and also a well-hated guy. He had strong opinions on every issue, but was generally just loveable old Gord. I still find myself thinking about things he made sure his news staff understood. He was a stickler for pronunciation and one of the things that comes to mind is that he would get upset when anyone called the month Feb-you-ary. It’s Feb-roo-ary, he would always say.

There is a picture of Gord in a prominent place in the CJAD newsroom (not the one above). You can’t miss it… and you shouldn’t.

Published in: on July 4, 2006 at 11:20 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jmayoff.wordpress.com/2006/07/04/happy-4th-of-july-happy-birthday-to-me-and-gord-sinclair/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I just realized, the subject of this post makes it look like it’s Gord’s birthday. It’s not. He just figures prominently in the post. Maybe it should have been. Gord Sinclair, Happy 4th of July and Happy Birthday to me!

  2. Happy b-day Jason! Wow, Gord sounds like he was an amazing man and will continue to be an amazing man today. It’s great when you’ve found someone to look up to in the field.

    Cheers.


Leave a Reply

